This is How Robo Advisor Succeeds in Four Communication Steps

This is How Robo Advisor Succeeds in Four Communication Steps

This is How Robo Advisor Succeeds in Four Communication Steps 1920 1280 Andreas Glänzel

Over 30 Robo Advisors fight for market share in Germany. For investors, the various offers are difficult to compare, which dampens the desire to get started. A four-step communication approach helps to attract long-term customers and grow the business.

Large supply, low demand – so far in Germany only a few private and institutional investors use the digital investment services of so-called Robo Advisor. Their advantages are obvious: in short, they help to make asset accumulation and investment more transparent, convenient and cost-effective. Over 30 providers are now active in German market, and the concepts are mostly based on exchange-traded index funds (ETFs).

Many providers are not yet profitable

So far, the business is developing predominantly with a blocked handbrake: the majority of Robo Advisor’s assets under management are in the double-digit million range at best. Thus, a profitable business is still far away. What are the reasons? In the spring of 2018, Stuttgart Stock Exchange did a online survey which showed 42 percent of Germans do not feel like being served by an automatic online consultant. Another 22 percent do not know Robo Advisor yet. But there’s good news too: 33 percent of investors are interested in digital asset management!

Potential customers miss orientation

There is a lack of orientation for both interested and uninformed people. Although numerous comparisons are on the market – according to Google‘s report, the search for “comparison Robo Advisor” gets over nine million hits. But individuals determine different “test winners” according to different criteria. Therefore, it makes sense for Robo Advisor to first focus on their audiences to understand their needs and purchase decision-making processes.

Professional communication can assist in four phases

When it comes to turning the target group into customers, professional communication helps. This was supposed to accompany the Robo Advisor through four phases. Firstly, it is important to clarify the fundamental relevance of the offers so that the digital alternative to traditional investment advice or online brokerage by self-decision makers becomes part of investors’ “relevant set”. If this is successful, then the own second brand should be positioned in such a way that its added value quickly opens up and an own profile becomes recognizable. Experience has shown that the fundamental decision of investors in favour of a provider is not sufficient to develop long-term business. Even in onboarding. The third important phase – many potential customers are lost. And last but not least, it is important to fill the accounts and accounts of new customers with capital.

The appropriate communication strategy helps to successfully shape these four phases of acquisition and business development. If then the performance is right, nothing stands in the way of a fast growth of the mostly still young companies.

Robo Advisor: in vier Schritten zum Erfolg

Robo Advisor: in vier Schritten zum Erfolg

Robo Advisor: in vier Schritten zum Erfolg 1920 1280 Andreas Glänzel

Über 30 Robo Advisor kämpfen in Deutschland um Marktanteile. Für Anleger sind die vielfältigen Angebote schwer vergleichbar, was die Lust am Einstieg dämpft. Ein vierstufiger Kommunikationsansatz hilft den anbietern, langfristige Kunden zu gewinnen und das Geschäft auszubauen.

Großes Angebot, geringe Nachfrage – in Deutschland nutzen bislang nur wenige private und institutionelle Anleger die digitalen Investment-Services sogenannter Robo Advisor. Dabei liegen deren Vorteile auf der Hand: Kurz gesagt verhelfen sie dazu, Vermögensaufbau und Geldanlage transparenter, bequemer und kostengünstiger zu gestalten. Über 30 Anbieter sind mittlerweile am deutschen Markt aktiv, und die Konzepte basieren zumeist auf börsengehandelten Indexfonds (ETFs).

Viele Anbieter sind noch nicht profitabel

Das Geschäft entwickelt sich bislang überwiegend mit angezogener Handbremse: Der Großteil der Robo Advisor bewegt sich beim verwalteten Vermögen bestenfalls im zweistelligen Millionenbereich. Damit sind die Anbieter von einem profitablen Geschäft noch weit entfernt. Was sind die Gründe? Im Frühjahr 2018 hat die Börse Stuttgart per Online-Umfrage ermittelt, dass 42 Prozent der Deutschen keine Lust haben, sich von einem automatischen Online-Berater bedienen zu lassen. Weitere 22 Prozent kennen Robo Advisor noch gar nicht. Aber es gibt auch eine gute Nachricht: Der Umfrage zufolge haben 33 Prozent der Anleger Interesse an digitaler Vermögensverwaltung!

Potenzielle Kunden vermissen Orientierung

Interessierten wie Unkundigen fehlt es an Orientierung. Zwar sind zahlreiche Anbietervergleiche am Markt – Google meldet bei der Suche nach „Vergleich Robo Advisor“ über neun Millionen Treffer. Doch die einzelnen Vergleiche bewerten nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien und ermitteln folgerichtig auch verschiedene „Testsieger“. Daher ist es sinnvoll, wenn Robo Advisor sich zunächst intensiv ihren Zielgruppen widmen, um deren Bedürfnisse und Kaufentscheidungsprozesse zu verstehen.

Professionelle Kommunikation kann in vier Phasen unterstützen

Wenn es darum geht, aus der Zielgruppe treue Kunden zu machen, hilft professionelle Kommunikation. Diese sollte die Robo Advisor idealerweise durch vier Phasen begleiten. Erstens geht es darum, die grundsätzliche Relevanz der Angebote zu verdeutlichen, damit die digitale Alternative zur klassischen Anlageberatung oder zum Online-Brokerage durch Selbstentscheider ein Teil des „relevant set“ der Anleger wird. Ist dies gelungen, sollte zweitens die eigene Marke so positioniert werden, dass sich ihr Mehrwert schnell erschließt und ein eigenes Profil erkennbar wird. Erfahrungsgemäß reicht die grundsätzliche Entscheidung der Investoren für einen Anbieter aber nicht aus, um daraus langfristiges Geschäft zu entwickeln. Denn auch im Onboarding – der dritten wichtigen Phase – gehen viele potenzielle Kunden verloren. Und nicht zuletzt gilt es viertens, die Konten und Depots neuer Kunden auch wirklich mit Kapital zu füllen.

Die passende Kommunikationsstrategie hilft, diese vier Phasen der Akquise und Geschäftsentwicklung erfolgreich zu gestalten. Wenn dann noch die Performance stimmt, steht einem schnellen Wachstum der meist noch jungen Unternehmen nichts im Wege.